For Healthcare Professionals  |  For Students  |  Classes & Programs  |  Wright Residency Program  |  Careers  |  Phone Directory  |  Volunteer  |  Donate

Neurosurgeon joins Geisinger-Community Medical Center

Dr-LynessLeslie Lyness, D.O., recently joined the Geisinger Neurosciences Institute as a neurosurgeon at Geisinger-Community Medical Center (G-CMC). Dr. Lyness will join G-CMC staff neurosurgeon Dr. Shripathi Holla, who currently heads G-CMC’s Neurosciences Institute and had previously served as the lone neurosurgeon in Lackawanna County for the past 25 years.
“It is with great pleasure that we welcome Dr. Lyness and her advanced knowledge and skill to Geisinger and the Scranton area,” said Steven Toms, M.D., FACS, MPH, director of neurosurgery, Geisinger Health System. “G-CMC now houses the only two neurosurgeons in the region, making it the go-to resource for neurosurgery in Lackawanna County.”

“Bringing additional neurosurgeons to G-CMC is the first step in the extensive clinical programming initiatives we have planned for the Scranton area,” stated Dr. Anthony Aquilina, Chief Medical Officer at G-CMC. “This enhancement to the neurosurgeon staff is evidence of Geisinger’s commitment to bringing more specialty care to the people of Lackawanna County.”
In June, Dr. Lyness completed a neurosurgical residency at the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, Philadelphia, where she also completed a transitional rotating internship in 2007.

Dr. Lyness graduated with a degree in biology from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, N.C., in 1990 before completing pre-medicine curriculum at Georgia State University, Atlanta, Ga., in 1999. In 2006, Dr. Lyness earned her medical degree from the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Dr. Lyness has twice delivered educational presentations at the American Osteopathic Presentation in 2011 and at the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine in 2012. In 2011, she was published in the British Journal of Neurosurgery and was the recipient of multiple academic awards from 2003 to 2006.